KFA Annual General Meeting, April 23, 2014 - in brief


Hello Members,

The Spring AGM was held April 23, 2014 on the Surrey Campus. Some of the business dealt with included:

  • Nominations were confirmed and our new KFA Executive was announced

  • Bargaining priorities for the upcoming round of bargaining were presented and approved

  • The year-end financial report was given

  • The 2014/15 Budget was presented and approved


KFA AGM, April 23, 2014

As well as the business of the Association, speakers presented on interesting topics

  • Cindy Oliver, FPSE President, gave  greetings from FPSE and spoke on several topics including some news on bargaining in our sector and around the province

  • MLA, David Eby, gave a presentation on public post-secondary funding in BC, and you can look at his PowerPoint here

  • Terri Van Steinburg commented on a number of issues including administrative density statistics for KPU including the fact that administrative salary budget has risen by 225% since 2004

  • Gillian Dearle presented a summary of the 15 current grievances and spoke about the hard work on the part of all officers to resolve most issues informally


MLA David Eby presenting during AGM




MLA David Eby




Bob Fuhr (Outgoing Professional & Scholarly Development Committee Rep) receives special presentation from Terri Van Steinburg (President)


The Spring AGM was followed by a social.


Gillian Dearle (V.P. Grievances) & Susana Phillips (Occupational Health & Safety Committee Representative)


Kyla Rand (Coordinator of Administrative Services) & Harpreet Parmar (Administrative Clerk)

List of faculty acclamations for the 2014/15 Executive:

  • Terri Van Steinburg, President

  • Bob Davis, Vice-President, Negotiations

  • Suzanne Pearce, Secretary-Treasurer (one-year term)

  • Kim Richter, Business

  • Gail Hills, Community & Health Studies

  • Jennifer Wolf, Non-Regular Faculty

  • Val Innes, Lesbian, Gay, Transgendered, Queer, Two-Spirited Committee Representative

  • Ann Marie Davison, Disability Management & Rehabilitation Committee Representative

  • George Broderick, Education Policy Committee Representative

  • Susana Phillips, Occupational Health & Safety Committee Representative

  • Raphael Lagoutin, Pension Advisory Committee Representative

  • Alice Macpherson, Professional & scholarly Development Committee Representative

Congratulations to each of the candidates. For a list of current Executives, go to Executive Representatives